top of page
Writer's pictureAbbas Rizvi

Top Hikes In Uttrakhand

Updated: Dec 13, 2020

Exploring the two divided regions of Uttrakhand that are Garhwal and Kumaon:

Queen of Hills - Mussoorie



Sometimes it's better to enjoy one's own company, one's own thoughts, one's own mood, one's own feelings with thousand other meanings flying above this vast blue sky, across this huge mountains reaching to someone somewhere unknown of happenings...!!



In the lower Himalayas of Uttarakhand, I hiked many kilometers through villages, terraced valleys, deodar forests, and swaying yellow mustard fields – a journey that gave me a peek into the soul of rural Kumaon, and through it, my own.



A quite little lake-town in the Himalayan Foothills

I’ve crossed Bhimtal several times while making my way into the higher reaches of Kumaon. Most of these times, I’ve looked away from the Bhimtal Lake. Though surrounded by colorful trees, it looks only as clean as you can expect an easily accessible lake in India to be. At the start of Bhimtal town, ugly concrete construction lines the hill slopes. Vegetation looks sparse, and cars, fruit sellers and people are aplenty. Most of these times, I’ve been glad to leave behind what seems like an unsightly town.



46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


102905272_3647500888658644_3995428618850

Hi, thanks for dropping by!

I’m an Indian Wanderer.

I write about how you can step out of your comfort zone and spark more adventure into your life, hope my travels give you the motivation to set off on an epic adventure of your own.

bottom of page